Bismah Maroof to lead Pakistan in South Africa series- Samaa Digital

Pakistani cricketer Bismah Mahroof plays a shot during the first T20 match between the Pakistan and Bangladesh women’s cricket team at The Southend Club in Karachi on September 30, 2015. Photo: AFP

Two 15-member squads of the Pakistan women’s cricket team were announced on Saturday for the T20I and ODI series against South Africa in May.

The squad was announced by chief selector Urooj Mumtaz along with two other members of the selection committee – Asmavia Iqbal and Marina Iqbal – in Karachi after a series of practice games between women cricketers.

Bismah Maroof will captain the team while off-spinner Saba Nazir has been replaced by uncapped spinner Rameen Shamim, while Jaweria Rauf, whose last ODI appearance was in January 2014, has been added.

“We have rewarded the girls for their outstanding achievements against the Windies girls by maintaining consistency in the ODI squad, while we have made some tweaks in the T20I squad as we look forward to next year’s ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020,” said Mumtaz.

Recommended For You

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *